Snack Review: Good Health Natural Products

Good Health Natural Products was kind enough to send me a package of their snacks to sample.  Lucky for me, this company really knows how to create some healthy snacks that do not skimp on taste whatsoever.  Established in 1992 by a French entrepreneur, the Good Health Natural Products company has been a great example of a smaller company that can definitely make an impact on the snacking world.  They are currently headquartered in Greensboro, North Carolina.  Let’s take a peak of some of the products they have to offer.

Good Health Snack Collage

Humbles – Baked Hummus Chips:

Humbles are made from hummus – which is made from the humble chick pea, one of mankind’s favorite snacks for a millennium now – so they’re as naturally tasty as they are healthful.  Baked to a crispy-crunchy golden brown, with only 4 or 4.5 grams of fat per serving.

  • Olive Oil, Lemon and Feta:  7.50/10  (Good)

My favorite of the Humbles.  Very light and airy, these crisps have a Mediterranean vibe going with the feta.  I used to hate feta as a kid and if you currently abhor it, fear not.  You only get a subtle hint of feta and no sour salt taste.  Olive oil, lemon and feta seem to be everything you’d need for a Greek-inspired crunchy snack that may go perfect with some tzatziki.

Olive Oil, Lemon and Feta Humbles

Olive Oil, Lemon and Feta

  • Roasted Red Pepper:  7.00/10  (Decent)

Hummus with roasted red pepper is one of my favorites, so I was curious to see how this combo would translate over to a hummus chip.  This was a very lightly seasoned chip with a mild hint of parmesan and onion.  I could eat these straight out of the bag with no problem, but I was still hoping for a stronger chickpea taste to actually remind me that what I was eating was indeed a crisp made of hummus.  It didn’t knock my socks off but I could see it growing on me.

Roasted Red Pepper Humbles

Roasted Red Pepper

  • Sesame Garlic:  5.75/10  (Mediocre)

Usually when I attack a non-candy snack I give big bonus points to anything with a nice salty and sweet taste.  With the Sesame Garlic Humbles I actually got more of a seasoned sweetness than anything else.  Maybe with a little extra salty kick I would’ve fallen in love with this particular flavor.  There is a faint flavoring of seems to be some sort of crispy asian noodle.  I noticed soy sauce powder as one of the ingredients, so maybe that’s where that idea came into play.  The Sesame Garlic might benefit the most from a great dip, but alone, I thought they were kind of mediocre.

Sesame Garlic Humbles

Sesame Garlic

Popcorn:

  • Organic:  7.25/10  (Decent)

It’s a mouth-watering story, starting with the plumpest, most tender gourmet popcorn – carefully selected from local organic-certified farms.  Then we lovingly air-pop all those premium kernels into fluffy white bursts of natural goodness.

Very natural tasting popcorn.  No need to douse in a heap of salt or cheese powders, this organic popcorn gets by on it’s natural state.  Assisted by a hint of sea salt, this can be considered as light snacking and we all know how addicting popcorn can be.  This organic popcorn was no exception.  While nothing really outstanding, I must admit to almost finishing the entire bag on a 12 mile drive to work. 🙂

Organic Popcorn

Organic Popcorn

  • Half Naked:  7.75/10  (Good)

For starters, we use only baby tender white corn, the plumpest and most tender popping corn ever raised on the farm.  Then we lovingly air-pop these premium kernels into scrumptious fluffy morsels of gourmet goodness.  And for the all-important final touch, performed in complete privacy, we lightly dress them in non-hydrogenated oil.

I was curious by the “half naked” name of course.  Was this going to be almost completely void of flavor?  I anticipated having to add my own seasoning or something, but that wasn’t the case.  A hint of olive oil is the secret.  Also, as with the Organic Popcorn, a dash of sea salt assists the natural taste of the popcorn exceptionally well.  While my favorite popcorn flavor is White Cheddar, I wouldn’t pass up this bag if I came across it in the market.  Less is more here (although it came in a giant bag 😛 )

Half-Naked Popcorn

Half Naked Popcorn

Natural Potato Chips:

  • Kettle Style Olive Oil Rosemary Chips:  5.50/10  (Mediocre)

For centuries, olive oil has been one of the mainstays of the Mediterranean diet.  Today, olive oil evokes images of the old country with its simpler and slightly slower lifestyle – what we like to think of as “the good life”.  We have tried to capture a part of this lifestyle by using 100% olive oil to kettle cook our chips.  The result of our efforts are chips with a hearty crunch and all natural taste.  Kettle cooking in 100% olive oil also makes these chips a delicious source of mono and polyunsaturated fats.

The taste and aroma of the Rosemary Chips was a little too much for my tastes.  These chips can get a little messy.  You can see the flecks of rosemary on every chip.  I wish you could see the inside of the bag after I was finished with it.  Sorta looked like yard trimmings.  Green, olive oily remnants coating the bag and leaving a strong scent. Awesome crunch that comes with kettle-cooked chips, which I love, but I found about 75% of the chips to be a lot smaller than what I’m used to.

Rosemary Olive Oil Kettle Chips

Kettle Syle Olive Oil Rosemary Potato Chips

Kettle Style Avocado Oil Chips:

This is the first time that avocado oil has been used to cook potato chips, resulting in robust flavor and 30% less fat than traditionally cooked chips.  Ranked by the Guinness Book of World Records as the world’s most nutritious fruit, avocados offer a wealth of health and beauty benefits.  Utilizing avocado’s nutritious properties, avocado oil is revolutionizing the potato chips industry as a healthy alternative to conventional cooking oils.  It contains a high concentration of vitamins and minerals, along with monounsaturated fats that help reduce LDL cholesterol.  Good Health Natural Products has developed proprietary technology to kettle cook potato chip with avocado oil without transferring high fat content.

  • Barcelona Barbeque Chips:  9.25/10  (Exceptional)

Wow, the Barcelona Barbeque Chips are amazing.  By far my favorite of all the products I tested for this review.  Not at all overwhelming or over coated with seasoning.  The natural potato flavor is present and the barbeque taste is more smokey sweet than it is tangy.  Truly unlike any barbeque flavored chip I’ve had in the past.  Yeah these chips are made with avocado oil, but avocado taste doesn’t carry over.  What carries over is the health benefits of avocado.  I don’t make the habit of ordering chips online, but these are worth checking out.  Trust me.  Visit the website and snag a few bags of Barcelona Barbeque and you won’t be disappointed.

Barcelona BBQ Kettle Chips

Barcelona Barbeque

  • Chilean Lime Chips:  9.00/10  (Exceptional)

My second favorite of the bunch…right behind the Barcelona Barbeque.  You may have had tortilla chips with lime and it reaches a whole new level with a kettle cooked crunchy potato chip.  The lime and salt go perfectly with the natural potato chip flavor to provide a complement that is worthy of some of the elite kettle cooked chips I’ve had.  This is an elite chip that would be perfect alongside a deli sandwich.  Some of the chips did suffer from the shrinkage found in the Rosemary chips, but not quite as bad.

Chilean Lime Kettle Chips

Chilean Lime

  • Sea Salt Chips:  8.50/10  (Very Good)

The plain Jane of the kettle chips.  Once again made with avocado oil and packed a great crunch.  Assisted only by sea salt, these chips were simple and tasty.  The potato flavor isn’t masked with heavy tastes of oil that sometimes plague the simpler kettle style chips on the market.  Tons of small pieces, so I was a little disappointed in that.  Lots of shrinkage once again, but taste-wise very good.

Sea Salt Avocado Oil Kettle Chips

Sea Salt

I was glad I had the opportunity to sample these products.  I have discovered some new favorites that I hope to indulge in sometime in the near future.  It’s probably pretty difficult for the smaller snack companies to get noticed and there are some very deserving candidates to be found.  I suggest perusing your local market and convenience stores with open eyes.  The smaller companies don’t get the same exposure as the big boys so look on the bottom shelves and in tucked away areas.  Check out this handy product locator.

GoodHealthNaturalProducts.com

6 comments on “Snack Review: Good Health Natural Products

  1. Ryan says:

    They do look really good…but no I haven’t tried them. Everything they sent me was reviewed in this post. Maybe next time though.

  2. Bear Silber says:

    I’ve never heard of chickpea chips. I would love to give those a shot. (checking with your “handy-dandy” product locator link I see Whole Foods sells ’em!).

    Seriously I think everything here sounds yum. I’d really like to give that rosemary one a go. I used to hate hate hate rosemary as we had it growing in our backyard but since moving from that home I’ve come to love it 🙂

    “I must admit to almost finishing the entire bag on a 12 mile drive to work. :)” – That’s awesome…..on a 1-mile trip would’ve been even cooler.

    Nice write up you lucky dog (for scoring some good free grub).

  3. Bear Silber says:

    Dude!!!!!! Sorry for the multiple comments but look what else they’ve got:

    Crispy Original Apple Chips and the Crispy Cinnamon Apple Chips
    http://www.goodhealthnaturalfoods.com/apple-chips.html

    Peanut Butter Filled Pretzels
    http://www.goodhealthnaturalfoods.com/pretzels.html

    Polenta Chips
    http://www.goodhealthnaturalfoods.com/polenta-chips.html

    Sweet Potato Chips
    http://www.goodhealthnaturalfoods.com/sweet-potato-chips.html

    Bistro Potato Chips
    http://www.goodhealthnaturalfoods.com/bistro-potato-chips.html

  4. Look at you eating healthy! Yay!!!

  5. Jess says:

    @Ryan- Hahahahaha, yeeeeah. There weren’t very good photos of the Gold Rush. Thanks for not getting angry!

    And the combination of going to both places was orgasmic. I loved those chains.

    I think I will try the Roy’s up in Northern Stonington in a few weeks. It deserves another chance and a re-review.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.