Review: S’mores Blizzard from Dairy Queen

Dairy Queen chose a fitting flavor for their June Blizzard of the Month. What better to embody the spirit of summer, campfires and friends than a good old fashioned s’more? Having already long considered the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Blizzard to be the granddaddy of all fast food desserts, I had high hopes for the Dairy Queen S’mores Blizzard. After all, frozen desserts tend to be a how-wrong-can-you-really-go-type situation (unless you’re Burger King, of course).photo__1370288133_66.80.123.2 Dairy Queen describes their S’mores Blizzard like this:

The new gooey, crunchy, cool taste of summer is here! We start with crunchy Honey Maid graham crackers and rich chocolate chunks filled with gooey marshmallow, then we whip it up in cool DQ soft serve. The next thing you know you’ve got the one and only S’mores Blizzard Treat. It’s a campfire in a cup available all summer long!

I paid $3.73 for a small S’mores Blizzard after taxes in Minnesota (it would have been $4.48 for a medium, $5.27 for a large). At the drive thru window, the high school guy working there said, “It’s good, by the way” as he handed me my S’mores Blizzard, which I took to be a good sign. He also gave me a free “pup cup” of ice cream for my dog, Jack, which he loved, but I’m still shaking my head at the idea of ice cream for dogs.s'mores blizzardThere was only one thing I didn’t like about the Dairy Queen S’mores Blizzard, and that was the size of the graham cracker pieces. As you can see in the comparison above, the promo pic suggests the graham crackers come in fairly healthy chunks, about half the size of the chocolate pieces. In reality, though, the graham crackers in my DQ S’mores Blizzard were just crumbs, interspersed throughout the Blizzard to give it a grainier texture. This wasn’t surprising, nor was it necessarily bad. The same pulverized-mix-in phenomenon happens with a lot of Blizzard flavors, actually, and people don’t seem to mind. It’s more of a personal preference thing, and I happen to like chunks.photo (5)__1370290968_66.80.123.2Now on to what I liked about the Dairy Queen S’mores Blizzard: everything else. That drive thru window guy wasn’t kidding when he said it was good. As you can see, my Blizzard was a little too melty, but that’s a temperature issue that I would guess varies based on how hot it is outside. The DQ S’mores Blizzard uses the same soft serve used in all their other Blizzards, so that part should be no different. Due to the pervasiveness of graham cracker crumbs, the overriding flavor of this Blizzard was graham cracker. Then came the cold crunch and sweetness of the milk chocolate squares, followed by a subtle marshmallow undertone from the small amount of marshmallow creme inside. Another thing I might have changed about this Blizzard is to include more marshmallow creme just mixed in with the Bizzard itself, to provide extra thickness and marshmallow flavor.photo (8)__1370291755_66.80.123.2Just look at these little chocolate squares, though. Dairy Queen could have just thrown in some chocolate chips and mini marshmallows, but they created their own little chocolate treat with a “DQ” etched into them, and that is impressive to me. I love attention to detail. Dairy Queen S'mores BlizzardOverall, the Dairy Queen S’mores Blizzard is a solid dessert. The graham crackers were a little too fragmented, but their toasty flavor came through strong. The chocolate squares provided some variance to the texture and rounded out the s’mores flavor profile with chocolate and marshmallow. That’s what I like the most about this Blizzard – graham crackers, marshmallows, chocolate – it’s all there. You might as well be eating a s’more. I might as well be eating a s’more. I’m gonna go eat a s’more.

Pros: Always-excellent DQ soft serve. Flavors of graham cracker, chocolate and marshmallow all present. Creative chocolate squares with marshmallow in the middle.

Cons: Graham cracker dust. Would be better with marshmallow creme mixed straight in.

Taste: 7.75/10
Value: 7.50/10
Grubbing on-the-go: 6.00/10
Price: $3.73

Overall GrubGrade: 7.75/10

More Info: www.dairyqueen.com
Nutrition Facts:
Calories - 410 (mini), 570 (s), 680 (m), 1420 (l)
Fat - 19g (mini), 20g (s), 25g (m), 68g (l)
Sugar - 43g (mini), 68g (s), 74g (m), 141g (l)

13 comments on “Review: S’mores Blizzard from Dairy Queen

  1. Griffin says:

    This looks way too good. I’d get diabeetus if I had a DQ closer to me.

  2. Dubba says:

    I love the new blizzard, but ofcourse I love graham and ice cream. I’m not sure how you managed to drive home and then eat the blizzard, I could never wait that long!

    • Sam says:

      Ha ha it was hard. I just kept telling myself, “Need more pictures, need more pictures, need more pictures…”

  3. barbara says:

    We got them last weekend and they were great! Ours did come with graham cracker chunks, not dust. I’m sure I would not have liked what you go either!

  4. Rick says:

    I got one Tuesday night and was not impressed with it. I too would have appreciated the marshmallow paste they pump on sundaes mixed in, although the idea of special marshmallow candy shows they tried to make it interesting. Maybe a dusting of graham cracker crumbs on top for show, but oh well.

  5. Echo710 says:

    I wonder how their s’mores shake compares with this? I think it has marshmallow topping in it.

  6. Tyler says:

    Nothing compared to a Sonic campfire blast.

  7. Chris aka NamebranD says:

    Sonic has like 25 new shake flavors and I’m pretty sure the two I tried would pulverize any DQ offering. This site needs more Sonic reviews.

  8. Alyssa says:

    I work at Dairy Queen! These are back for June 2014 too! If you want to improve your Smores blizzard…

    1. Ask for it lightly blended. (The dust or chunks of graham crackers just depends on how long whoever makes it blends it)
    2. Ask to add a pump of marshmallow sauce. It will probably cost about 50 cents, but it should be worth it!

    I hope this helps! Enjoy your DQ!

  9. […] the S’mores Blizzard treat IS HERE.  The fan favorite returns for another limited time run (see our review from last year). The S’mores Blizzard features DQ vanilla soft blended with Honey Maid graham crackers and […]

  10. DQBabe says:

    It is surprising you say it needed more marshmallow flavor. I work at DQ and we are instructed to actually put a decent amount of the marshmallow topping in the blizzard. Maybe you just got some lazy employee. But I recommend the s’mores Blizzard over any other monthly Blizzard we carry.

  11. Tony Darnell says:

    I went to this review wondering if I should spend the 5 bucks on this or actual food. The pic was the first thing I seen and that’s all I need to know.

  12. G says:

    Sonic is a disgrace. Yuck.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>