Review: Premium McWraps from McDonald’s

Note to fast food companies: If you’re coming out with a new chicken product, give me variety, give me portability and give me a decent value.  The latest chicken product attempt from McDonald’s ventures into the world of chicken wraps and new Premium McWraps aim to give you something more than just a snack.McWrapsLet’s cover our bases here.  The McWrap has variety: choice of grilled or crispy chicken and then you choose one of three styles.  Chicken & Bacon, Sweet Chili Chicken, Chicken & Ranch Each McWrap is made up of a 10-inch flour tortilla, chicken, spring greens, shredded lettuce, cheddar jack cheese.  From there you’ve got an option with bacon, tomato and garlic sauce or an option with cucumber, sweet chili and garlic sauce or an option with cucumber seasoned rice vinegar and buttermilk ranch sauce.  So yes, the McWrap has plenty of variety.  What about portability?  Click on the image below for a closer look.McWrap PackagingReading instructions and pics aren’t needed, but they’re on the McWrap sleeve to help you out.  The packaging works well for a one-handed grubbing on the go option and only hits a bump in the road in the beginning and very end.  I found more tortilla than anything else at the start and towards the end you’ll likely have to do without the packaging to get to the rest of it.  This issue didn’t impact the Chicken & Ranch version as much (more on that later).  It makes me wonder if a 10″ tortilla was too big a choice, but the issue lies more in balancing the ingredients.  If you wrapped the McWrap more like a burrito, you could probably make due with less packaging.  Balance issues aside, there is a decent amount of grub to make this a meal in itself.  As for price, each McWrap is $3.99, which is creeping on the higher side, but stays in the acceptable range.McWrap from McDonaldsChicken & Bacon includes grilled or crispy chicken breast filet with bacon, two half slices of tomato, spring greens, shredded lettuce and cheddar jack cheese, all drizzled with a creamy garlic sauce wrapped in a 10-inch warm flour tortilla. (440-600 calories)  This combination of ingredients seemed to be the one that will be most popular with customers and it’s the style that get the big picture treatment on the menu board.  The Chicken & Bacon is also the first McWrap I tried out of the three I had over the past week.  My first impression was being pleasantly surprised to have an abundance of spring greens and not an overabundance of boring lettuce.  The creamy garlic sauce could’ve fooled me for ranch at first and it blended well with the other ingredients without being overpowering in garlicky taste at all.  The chicken and bacon are the core of this wrap and there was enough meaty morsels and salty crunch to satisfy my hunger.  I’ve never liked the bacon at McDonald’s very much and I feel a change is long overdue.  I didn’t mind it as much in this wrap as it doesn’t stand out and take over as much as it does for me with a burger.   6.75/10Chicken Bacon McWrap Sweet Chili Chicken includes grilled or crispy chicken breast filet, crisp cucumber slices, spring greens, shredded lettuce, sweet chili, and cheddar jack cheese, all drizzled with creamy garlic sauce and wrapped in a 10-inch warm flour tortilla. (360-520 calories)  I figured this Sweet Chili Chicken McWrap would work best with grilled chicken, so I went that route.  The standout for me with this McWrap was the inclusion of cucumber slices, a first for McDonald’s.  My only gripe with that would be there just weren’t enough of them.  The cool, fresh cucumbers do their best to cut through the peppery sour tang of the sweet chili but sweet chili wins.  Sweet chili finishes off with a little bit of heat, but its mostly that sharp sour too-much-salad-dressing-on-my-salad type of effect.  The consistency is too watery to effectively cover everything evenly and once I got to the finish line, it was a saturated end to the meal.  I found it hard to believe the garlic sauce was present on the Sweet Chili Chicken McWrap since the sweet chili was so overwhelming.  The cheese had zero impact.   6.00/10Sweet Chili Chicken McWrap McDonald'sChicken & Ranch includes grilled or crispy chicken breast filet, with two half slices of tomato, cucumber slices, spring greens, shredded lettuce and cheddar jack cheese, all drizzled with seasoned rice vinegar and buttermilk ranch sauce 10-inch warm flour tortilla. (430-590 calories)  The Chicken & Ranch McWrap was my favorite of the three choices.  Cucumber slices return with the Chicken & Ranch and I was happy about that.  I went with crispy chicken on this one and for whatever reason, this McWrap suffered the least from too much tortilla and had an overall great balance of ingredients.  The buttermilk ranch sauce effectively adhered to everything evenly.  The cheddar jack cheese stood out with Chicken & Ranch more than the other McWraps.   I’m wondering if the other McWraps would have felt a little more complete with removing one ingredient from the mix.  Doing a little research I noticed that it wasn’t a fluke that this particular McWrap felt fuller than the rest.  The Chicken & Ranch McWrap with crispy chicken is 11-oz (grilled is 10.5-oz) and all other versions of McWraps are in the 9-oz range.  Seems minor, but it made a noticeable difference.  8.25/10Chicken and Ranch McWrapOverall, I feel McWraps are a well-executed new menu item at McDonald’s.  It’s a big enough wrap that didn’t leave me hungry for more and at $3.99, I don’t want to be hungry for more when I’m at McDonald’s.  You’ve got a nice selection of McWraps for this introduction and the doors are open for future spicy chicken McWraps or some other blend of interesting combinations.  The McWrap packaging shows some innovation while  also being practical and effective.  I wouldn’t go so far as to say these McWraps are deserving of the word “premium”, but it’s a solid attempt.  Going with something other than a traditional white flour tortilla may have pushed it in the right direction of premium.

Pros: The Chicken & Ranch version. Variety of three options with choice of grilled or crispy chicken. Great packaging for grubbing on the go. Cucumber slices. A meal in itself for 600 calories or less.

Cons: Side items: There isn't much McDonald's offers to go with the McWrap. Balance issues with too much tortilla in the first few bites if you choose the Sweet Chili Chicken or Chicken & Bacon versions. Inconsistent weights.

Taste: 7.00/10
Value: 6.25/10
Grubbing on-the-go: 9.00/10
Price: $3.99

Overall GrubGrade: 7.25/10

More Info: http://www.McDonalds.com
Nutrition Facts:
Chicken & Bacon
Crispy - 9.8 oz - 600 calories, 30g fat, 8g saturated fat, 1420mg sodium, 54g carbs, Dietary Fiber 3g, Sugars 7g
Grilled - 9.3 oz - 440 calories, 16g fat, 6g saturated fat, 1250mg sodium, 40g carbs, Dietary Fiber 3g, Sugars 5g
Sweet Chili Chicken
Crispy - 9.5 oz - 520 calories, 22g fat, 4.5g saturated fat, 1200mg sodium, 58g carbs, Dietary Fiber 3g, Sugars 12g
Grilled - 9.1 oz - 360 calories, 9g fat, 2.5g saturated fat, 1030mg sodium, 44g carbs, Dietary Fiber 2g, Sugars 10g
Chicken & Ranch
Crispy - 11 oz - 590 calories, 29g fat, 8g saturated fat, 1300mg sodium, 56g carbs, Dietary Fiber 3g, Sugars 8g
Grilled - 10.5 oz - 430 calories, 16g fat, 6g saturated, 1130mg sodium, 42g carbs, Dietary Fiber 3g, Sugars 6g

35 comments on “Review: Premium McWraps from McDonald’s

  1. jrdunn says:

    had the sweet chili and agreed it was good. mine was wrapped like a burrito so no excess wrap to deal with. only gripe was most of the sauce was at bottom and could have used more sauce

  2. Dave says:

    $3.99 does seem a bit much, but will give it a try at least once.

  3. SmoledMan says:

    More crappy dressing drenched wraps that are bad for the health. You know what’s healthier for lunch? Vegetables and meat stir fry!

  4. Chefprotoss says:

    Hey Ryan, have you ever had the pre made wraps from Wawa? Those are my go to when I’m hungry and in a rush and I am curious how they compare with these.

  5. TheHotToddy23 says:

    Wraps, especially at fast food joints, simply don’t appeal to me. Not sure what it is but they never seem to work in my opinion. These sound okay but not something I’d be into trying for aforementioned reasons. Fast food restaurants love to tack that “premium” onto menu items when no matter how you slice it, it is still the same old fast food. Not sure who they think they are kidding but that’s marketing for you. Any idea why two have 9 ounces of chicken and one has 11/10.5? It probably has something to do with the amount of other ingredients but was curious regardless.

    • jrdunn says:

      I would say because the bacon one has bacon, the sweet chili one has veggies and cucumbers and the ranch one has well nothing, so it has a little more chicken

  6. Jonathan Wayne says:

    I suspect the Sweet Chili would have fared better if it was crispy, everything is better with crispy chicken.

  7. jrdunn says:

    I’m surprised nobody has brought up the question, why is there no buffalo wrap? I mean they have the sauces

  8. ratbuddy says:

    How did this product name ever make it past committee?

    Seriously, say it out loud.. McWrap.. McWrap..

  9. Dave says:

    What you should do is put it side by side to a “snack wrap”, to see just how much more we’re getting for the price.

  10. Dave says:

    They wanted $4.39 for it here in Wisconsin, before tax. I ordered the Crispy Chicken & Ranch. IMO, it was nothing special. I also tried the Cheddar Onion burger. It was OK, but again, nothing special. Also ordered a Spicy McChicken, but the lady didn’t put it in the bag!!… What USED to be special, to me at least, was the Grilled Chicken Flatbread Sandwich (early 2000′s??), the McDLT, the Arch Deluxe, and the Cheddar Melt… ALL GONE!!! R.I.P… This is why McDonalds has lost most of my business, except for when I get a hankerin’ for a Big Mac, which is rare.

    • Dave says:

      Forgot to add “Chicken Fajita” to that list. I would order about four of those tasty treats at a time. GONE!!!… Thanks fer’ nothin’, McRonald!

      • Dave says:

        No, wait! There’s more!… Add “Big & Tasty” to that list. It was bad enough that they pulled the plug on the wonderful “McDLT”, but then they had the gall to pull the runner-up to it, the “Big & Tasty”. Yes, I realize there is a deluxe Angus burger, but I hate the taste of ALL of the Angus burgers, from the meat to the bun!! WHAT NEXT will you take away from me, McDonalds? The Big Mac??? I don’t care anymore… Switched to Culvers long ago!

        • FA says:

          I loved the now gone Angus trio, tasty and large. These wraps are perfectly fine, but won’t do anything for me when I have that yen for beef. I guess they couldn’t accommodate both chi chi items on the menu.

  11. Amy says:

    I tried the sweet chili mcwrap the other day. I was thinking hmm sweet and chili, what can go wrong? Either the person making mine was on crack and used way too much chili or this was just from hell. I thought I would breathe fire after polishing off this wrap. Way too spicy for my taste and the cucumbers seemed out of place. Since I’m rhyming, ain’t no beef with trying the chicken bacon, no mistaking, that was the wrap worth making. Tasted good with grilled chicken, finger licking. Get a few cheeseburgers to go with it, cuz my stomach, didn’t fill it. We out.

    • Dave says:

      I agree with you on the cucumbers. I’ve never been a fan of them. Anything that cucumbers are added to just kills it for me. A lot of people like them, but then again, a lot of people don’t, so I’m surprised to see them creep in to certain McDonalds offerings.

    • FA says:

      Same problem 6 mo later. I had one moderate spice chili mcwrap. But yesterday’s set my mouth on fire big time! I’ll just switch to the Ranch and at least get an extra ounce of product.

  12. Linda says:

    I had a Grilled chicken snack wrap the other day and it had about 1/2 ounce of chicken in it. It was so small I wondered if there was any chicken in it at all. Also does anyone besides me notice how horrible their grilled chicken is with that glob of fat always on it somewhere.
    YUK>

    • FA says:

      Yeah, the snack wraps leave me much too hungry and upset for being cheap, so the McWrap a good option. I love the packaging, they’re all fresh and one is 10.5 ounces, 11 crispy.

  13. Michael says:

    I love the sweet chili mcwrap, especially the cucumbers. Now I see there is no wonder that I loved it since it has over a thousand mg’s of salt and 10 grams of sugar. I’m killing myself with something I thought was healthy!

  14. Amanda says:

    I love the sweet chili Mcwrap with crispy chicken. It’s the only one I have tried, so far. I really enjoyed the mix of the garlic sauce with the chili sauce. It was not too spicy at all, was wrapped perfectly, no excess sauce, and the packaging is brilliant. LOVE the cucumbers. Only thing I would change is skip the cheese and add tomatoes, if I could. After reading the review, I am going to try the ranch wrap next time. Didn’t realize it had rice vinegar in it. That sounds really good!

  15. FA says:

    Wasn’t a fluke that his particular Wrap felt fuller. Chicken & Ranch, crispy is 11-oz (grilled is 10.5-oz) and all other versions are in the 9-oz range. Seems minor, but it made a noticeable difference. 8.25/10
    Great reporting! I appreciate the heads up. Going with this one from now on. The Sweet Chili leaves my mouth en fuego for 5 minutes too! And I’m not crazy about McD bacon either, so it’s a win to go Ranch.
    I have “Buy drink and fries, free wrap” coupons, saving $3 on a meal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>