Review: Mighty Minis Onion from Arby’s

Arby’s recently released a Snack ‘n Save menu with 13 items ranging  from a dollar to $2.99.  Since I noticed Mighty Minis were on this new value menu and until now I haven’t been able to find them in their limited location first run, I figured I’d be in luck on my next visit.  Luckily, the limited availability no longer applies to my friendly neighborhood Arby’s as I was able to grab a pair of the onion version of Mighty Mini’s… Mighty Minis Onion.

Mighty Minis Box

Arby’s describes their Mighy Minis Onion like this:

Freshly sliced roast beef piled high on soft twin-pack slider bun topped with housemade crispy onions and rich au jus spread. Still a mini price, but available with an even mightier taste

No surprise… I like sandwiches. I’m one of those people that is convinced they taste better diagonally sliced into four smaller triangles.  The kid in me just prefers when a sandwich is made in mini form.  With Mighty Minis, my love of sliders attracted me to make this a standout buy before even sampling the product.

Mighty MinisPriced at $2.69, the Mighty Minis fall in the right price range I’m looking for with a quick fast food grab.  It’s hard to go wrong when you’re priced at under 3 bucks because I prefer to “a la carte” my drive-thru runs rather than going for the 7 dollar combo meals.  You get two Minis and together they equal a size that is a little heftier than the standard Roast Beef Classic.  The packaging was also done right so there’s another check mark for the positive.  It’s a nice, sturdy well put-together packaging and that’s a big plus for grubbing on the go.

Arby's Mighty Minis OnionSo now to taste and texture… there are some hits and misses.  FIrst off I really liked the bread… really soft and no excess dried out parts.  The twin-pack buns are stuck together so you’ll have to do the pull-apart a la BK Burger Shots and BK Breakfast Shots.  The separating of the Minis wasn’t an issue and there was a decent balance of ingredients after the procedure.  The roast beef is slightly salty with an adequate amount of moisture, but it’s your standard Arby’s fare and I’ve never been overly impressed by it.  The housemade crispy onions were a little lost unfortunately and I would’ve preferred more… like a lot more.  If you’re after the onion taste, it would’ve been nice to see mini onion buns.  The flavors I got from these Mighty Minis were more dominated by the au jus spread than anything else.  The sauce made my crispy onions a little on the soggy side and I just didn’t love the flavor.  The au jus spread seemed to make the Minis overly beefy, when I was hoping the impact of the onion flavors would be highlighted.  Nothing about the promo pictures really give you any hint that au jus is front and center.  A different sauce here would’ve improved my experience entirely.

Mighty Minis OnionIn the end, Mighty Minis Onion are a fair fast food value with adequate packaging for a quick on-the-go bite.  The roast beef is a far cry from Roy Rogers, but it’s decent.  The buns are just about perfect and I’m a big fan of crispy onions.  The downfall with Mighty Minis Onion for me is with the au jus spread.  I felt the au jus spread did more to detract from the onions and just beef up the roast beef.  Mighty Minis Onion fall into the realm of mediocre with a flavor that wasn’t necessary considering the rest of the ingredients.

Pros: Great buns. Under the 3 dollar mark. Packaging. Arby's didn't skimp on the roast beef... piled on generously.

Cons: Dominated by au jus spread flavor which makes for an overly beefy flavor and detracts from the crispy onions. No cheese.

Taste: 5.50/10
Value: 7.25/10
Grubbing on-the-go: 7.75/10
Price: $2.69

Overall GrubGrade: 5.75/10

More Info: http://www.arbys.com
Nutrition Facts:
Calories - 550
Total Fat - 30 grams
Saturated Fat - 7 grams
Cholesterol - 55 milligrams
Sodium - 1260 milligrams
Carbs - 47 grams
Dietary Fiber -  2 grams
Sugars - 6 grams
Protein - 23 grams

14 comments on “Review: Mighty Minis Onion from Arby’s

  1. Ryan says:

    Forgot to mention… these Mighty Minis are $2.69 and weigh more than the Classic Roast Beef Sandwich which was priced at $2.99.

  2. BigBelly says:

    hmmm, maybe ask for “light on the spread?”
    they sure look good, and if they did mini onion buns, I’d be heading there now!

    • Ryan says:

      Yeah light on spread would work better. I just order “as is” for the review. Got these Mighty Minis twice from two different Arby’s locations and they were pretty identical.

    • Marie says:

      When they still had the Turkey Mighty Minis as an option on the menu, I asked for the spread on the side so that I could control how much I wanted to apply to the bread. Also, I always asked if they could put as many of the crispy onion straws in as they could because that was my favorite part of the sandwich, and they would load me up with them. So much that it was almost enough to be a side of onion straws along with the sandwiches. :-)

  3. Simon says:

    As a former Arby’s employee I can agree that the au jus spread adds a beefy taste. I didnt mind it on the beef version but it was out of place on the turkey version. And it is expected to add a beefy taste, as all it is is mayo mixed with the au jus powder mix.

    • Gendo Ikari says:

      >…as all it is is mayo mixed with the au jus powder mix.

      Ahah! I was looking for the secret to making that sauce!

      No wonder it is so salty. And delicious. And beefy. And horrible for me.

  4. jrdunn says:

    I think take off the spread and it would be nice if they did like a au jus broth to dip it in I love that. If not I would be happy with some arbys sauce

  5. MP says:

    I have to say, I’m very intrigued by these and I wonder what the ‘crispy’ & ‘spicy’ part is on the box. The turkey version, not at all.

  6. CB says:

    In Michigan we have had these for a while. The onion one is OK but the spicy one was great. Sad to see it go.

  7. Chris says:

    I just can’t figure out the rating system

    Taste 5.5/10
    Value 7.25/10
    on Go 7.75/10

    Equals 20.5/30
    However, the overall is 5.75

    Now consider the BK bacon burger (overall 6.00) All things considered with your rating system the Mighty-Minis are worse. Now examine the data.

    BK Bacon Burger (6.00)
    Taste 6/10
    Value 6/10
    on Go 8.5/10

    Total 20.5/30

    Or
    McRib (6.00)
    Taste 6/10
    Value 6.5/10
    On Go 5/10

    Total 17.5/30

    so,
    (5.5/10)x + (7.25/10)y + (7.75/10)z= 17.25/30
    (6/10)x + (6/10)y + (8/10)z= 18/30
    (6/10)x + (6.5/10)y + (5/10)z= 18/30

    Why bother having a rating system if you’re not going to actually use it?

    I like the site- I like how honest you are and how you always have multiple pictures but your inconsistent scale devalues your work.

    • Ryan says:

      We used to have a “Overall GrubGrade is not an average” blurb next to all our ratings back before the site update in the Spring. We had it that way for like 4 years. When we redid the site template that blurb was taken off. Sorry for the confusion and for doing all the math. Normally the overall GrubGrade is more in line with the “Taste” grade… but yeah, it’s not an average of the other grades obviously.

  8. Marie says:

    VERY upset at Arby’s Corporate office’s decision to remove Turkey as an option for the Mighty Minis alongside the Roast Beef. I loved the turkey and do not eat beef, and those Turkey Mighty Minis were a favorite of mine the past several weeks.

    I asked if they could please subsitute turkey for the Roast Beef and they said they were unable to, not even with an upcharge. I find this simply ridiculous considering A) they have turkey already on the menu and available in the store and B) why turn away customers who ask for a reasonable request (even offered to pay an upcharge), esp. for one that was available just a week ago!

    Bad move, Arby’s. Bring back turkey as an option for your Mighty Minis or else I am sure I am not the only unhappy customer who will frequent your restaurants much less now that they are not available.

  9. Sascha says:

    This is the most wrong you’ve ever been, Ryan, the Au Jus spread is freakin’ tremendous and, quite simply, should be put on EVERYTHING!!! These onion Mighty Mini’s have become the only thing I order at Arby’s, and I always get an extra side of the Au Jus to put on homemade sandwiches or even sandwiches bought elsewhere. Throw some of Culver’s 4 pepper blend in that sauce and I might be tempted to believe in a heaven.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>