Review: Burger King Original Chicken Sandwich, Club Chicken Sandwich, Italian Chicken Sandwich

The siren song of the Buy One Get One Free Chicken Sandwich promotion at Burger King has caught me.  The result was four chicken sandwiches for the price of two and a review of the 3 featured items; the Original Chicken Sandwich, the Club Chicken Sandwich and the Italian Chicken Sandwich.

I can’t seem to find much I really like about Burger King anymore besides a few things here and there.  A promotional priced item is exactly what it will take to get me back, but I’m not sure if it’s even worth it.  When you find out how much the Original Chicken Sandwich and its two variants cost, you might wonder if fast food has lost its identity.

The Original Chicken Sandwich is described like this:

Crispy premium white meat chicken topped with shredded lettuce, mayo, and served on a sesame seed bun. So good, we haven’t changed it since 1979. How many sandwiches can say that?

Well, just because something hasn’t been changed in over 30 years doesn’t mean much to me.  The Original Chicken Sandwich ($4.49) description claims “crispy premium white meat chicken” and to that I say “bwahahahahaa, yeah OK”.  There’s nothing premium going on here I assure you.  The chicken is a patty shaped like a shoe insole and so packed with additives that it’s laughable to call it premium.  It really is an overly sodium-laden patty, that surprisingly isn’t dried out as some might expect.  The one positive I’ll give the chicken patty is it retains its slightly greasy moisture without being soggy.  Burger King lettuce is always lame, limp and in need of an upgrade.  The oblong shaped sub-roll-style sesame seed bun is a nice change from the same old hamburger roll on 99% of other chicken sandwiches.   I found the bun to be quite good and able to contain the ingredients of the sandwich well.  Burger King bread products never stand out, but this is different and maybe it just gets bonus points for that.

The Club Chicken Sandwich:

Crispy premium white meat chicken topped with thick-cut bacon, tomato, shredded lettuce, mayo, and served on a sesame seed bun. A great new twist added to an all-time favorite.

The Club Chicken Sandwich ($4.79) takes the Original Chicken Sandwich and just adds two slices of tomato and some bacon strips.  I was shocked to find the tomatoes not as horrific as I’m used to from BK.  I saw the advertisement in the restaurant window touting “NEW THICK HARDWOOD SMOKED BACON” and thought maybe the bacon in the Club Chicken Sandwich could possibly “wow” me.  Maybe I got a bad batch of the stuff, but this new bacon was overcooked and just added a more salty flavor to the package that the tomato, lettuce and mayo couldn’t cut through.  I was surprised at how little difference I noticed between the Original and the Club.  You’d think that adding tomato and bacon would improve the Original and it just didn’t.  I was hoping for better, my mistake.

The Italian Chicken Sandwich:

Crispy premium white meat chicken topped with flavorful marinara sauce, mozzarella cheese and served on a sesame seed bun. A delicious new flavor added to an all-time favorite.

The biggest outlier of the set of three would be the Italian Chicken Sandwich ($4.69).  A smattering of marinara sauce and mozzarella cheese take over the Italian for a taste of a chicken parm-esque sub.  Unfortunately, the marinara is incredibly artificial tasting.  I wanted to really like this sandwich, but it was the weakest of the three.  The mozzarella had absolutely zero impact and I’m finding weak cheese to be a huge disappointing trend in fast food. I appreciate the fact that this style of sandwich isn’t something you encounter often at fast food joints, but you can find a local pizza joint that will do it bigger and better for probably no more than a couple bucks extra.

I sometimes find it ridiculous when fast food restaurants try to be something more than fast food.  These chicken sandwiches from Burger King are fast food through and through except for the fact that they are nearly $5 a piece (upwards of almost $8 for a combo).  If not for the high price, I think I’d be more fair and just take them for what they are.  Advertising premium chicken when it’s not and then slapping a premium price tag will only anger your consumers.  While the BOGO deal is going on, take advantage if you want to try, but I would find it foolish to pay the regular price.

Pros: Three choices. Chicken patties aren't dried out.

Cons: Not premium chicken at all. Price without promo deal. Overly salty.

Taste: 6.00/10
Value: 4.25/10
Grubbing on-the-go: 6.25/10

Overall GrubGrade: 6.25/10 (Original Chicken Sandwich) | 6.25/10 (Club Chicken Sandwich) | 5.75/10 (Italian Chicken Sandwich)

More Info: BurgerKing.com
Nutrition Facts:
Original Chicken Sandwich
630 calories, 39g fat, 7g saturated fat, 65mg cholesterol, 46g carbs, 1390mg sodium 24g protein

54 comments on “Review: Burger King Original Chicken Sandwich, Club Chicken Sandwich, Italian Chicken Sandwich

  1. Sara says:

    I do like an occasional Original Chicken Sandwich, but I always order them “no lettuce, add pickles”.

  2. Todd says:

    I occasionally get the original chicken sandwich and the lettuce is always pathetic. For some reason I always eat the sandwich while putting ketchup on each bite.

    • TehBuLL says:

      Whoa weird, I do the same exact thing. Never seen anyone else do it before. The trick is to get the perfect angle on the ketchup packet…which is of course the least of the challenges when eating Burger King.

      • Todd says:

        i’m usually eating it shamefully at home. adding ketchup with the squeeze bottle. now i am at a loss to think why in the world i put ketchup on this “chicken” sandwich when I do not do it with ANY other chicken product.

  3. Daisy says:

    I remember back when they released the American which was the classic, the Italian and the French which had ham and Swiss like a cordon Bleu. Last time I went to burger king I got a whopper and it honestly tasted like crap, it had a bitter flavor I couldn’t get over it haven’t been back since and that was well over a year ago!

  4. Natalie says:

    I really don’t think there’s a single good food item of Burger King’s menu, but the other day I stopped in for an icee. In Alaska, the chicken sandwiches are $5.69 and $5.99, if I’m remembering correctly. I thought it was definitely high, the prices are higher than McDonald’s chicken sandwiches here and McDonald’s are actually somewhat decent.

  5. Chefprotoss says:

    I was wondering how bad bk’s marinara was. Thanks for taking one for the team.

    Also, lol at the shoe part.

  6. George says:

    I’m conflicted about Burger King. Everything there tastes so artificial now. The burger patties taste like the ones I remember from the High School cafeteria with liquid smoke added. When I had a chicken sandwich last time they did a deal, I also noticed that there was about a tablespoon more salt than needed in each chicken patty. When I was a kid, I remember BK tasting so much better. I’m wondering if my tastes have improved that much, or if BK truly has actually become that much worse. McDonald’s and Wendy’s still taste the same to me. However, I do think the new fries are an improvement.

  7. Jeff says:

    I don’t understand how this is still on the menu. Who is buying these at this price? Might as well upgrade to a Tendercrisp, which is perhaps the only good item on the Burger King menu.

  8. Sascha says:

    Had a couple of these today thanks to the BOGO and could not believe what BK is charging for one regular price these days. I remember back when the special ones come out (like the Italian) it would usually come in a 2 for $4 offer, now you’re paying more despite one being “free”. Ridiculous. At the $2 and change rate they SHOULD be going for anyway, they’re at least tolerable. I had a club and it was quite good, the Italian not as good as I remember, but not horrible. Certainly kicks a McChicken’s fanny, but that’s about it. The Tendercrisp may be one of the best breaded chicken sandwiches on the fast food circuit right now, and these don’t belong anywhere near the Crisp in price. Give me the 2 for $3 spicy’s at Checker’s/Rally’s any day.

    • Ryan says:

      Yeah Checker’s has great promo priced items

    • Raiders757 says:

      The Tendercrisp is one thing BK does do right. Sadly it’s slighty over $8 for a Tendercrisp combo where I live, which is in no way worth it. Chick-fil-A is less, and their chicken sandwich blows everyone else off the map, so when in the mood, I’ll just breeze right on by BK and go to CFA.

      I’m not sure what makes BK think they can get away with charging so much for their combos either. I shouldn’t be paying Wendy’s combo prices for BK’s food. BK is way down the list when it comes to fast food value, because their prices are too high and their food is well below par compared to the rest of the industry. BK’s burgers are barely above the frozen burgers they sell at 7-11 to heat up in the microwave. Thy took my beloved Whopper and have made a mockery of it these days.

      • Sascha says:

        I wish I could breeze right by BK on my way to CFA. Problem is, I’d probably breeze by about 300 BK’s and drive five hours before I can hit my closest CFA.

        The Tendercrisp is a very good alternative though. The Tendergrill however, sucks. I will eternally hate BK for the Chicken Whopper and the Tendergrill. There was no better sandwich ever created than the BK Broiler.

        • Raiders757 says:

          Five hours to the nearest CFA? That just blows. I can’t remember a time when CFA wasn’t an option. Then again, during most of my youth it was a treat my parents would get me, as it was only available in our local malls.

          Actually, any sort of fast food was often a treat. I grew up in an age when most parents fed us recipes out of the Betty Crocker cook book, and the entire family gathered around “the diner table” to eat together. Fast food was mainly a reward for being good when mom took/forced us to go shopping with her.

          (In typing this, I’m flashing back to a time when Wendy’s was the new kid on the block, and they had the tables decorated with the old newspaper adds. The BK Whopper was truly great, McDonlad’s french fries were cooked in beef tallow, Pizza Hut’s pan pizza was actually good, Shakey’s played ‘The Little Rascals’ on a big, amazing at the time, projection screen, Hickory Farms was an actual store in the mall instead of a kiosk only open during the holidays, record stores blared kick ass rock n roll, and the Orange Julius stand was all the rage.

          CFA and Hickory Farms always passed out samples, and kids like me always took advantage of it. Damn, I miss those days.)

  9. Steven says:

    My local BK had the original chicken sandwich for $1.49 for the longest time… like a year maybe. That promotion ended a few weeks into December. I found that out the hard way when my then usual $3+tax meal was suddenly almost 10 bucks.

    $4.49 for that sandwich is a gigantic rip off. The tendercrisp is similarly priced and is a much better sandwich though only if the chicken is freshly cooked. If it has sat for a while – yuck.

    Price promos (BOGO or $1 dbl cheese, etc.) are the only thing worth going to BK for.

  10. Bob says:

    Where do you live that it cost that much? In Los Angeles, $5.49 gets you the sandwhich in a meal!

    • TJ says:

      That’s exactly what I was thinking, but from the other comments it sounds like the price has gone up suddenly. It’s been maybe a year or so since I got one, and it was much closer to $3. I thought that was a little high, but not too bad. I can’t imagine paying over $4 for one of these, the BOGO deal brings it down to a more reasonable price though.

  11. Mitchery says:

    That Italian one was bad. You are dead on about the marinara tasting artificial. The cheese was bad as well. However I have always liked the original chicken sandwich.

  12. richard says:

    $1.99 for the original here in canada every tuesday. not every bk is the same but the one near me has them for 2 for 4 every day.
    the real reason i commented is because this is my most hated fast food item of all time. The bk fish sandwich is equally nasty.

    I really dont like bk, the onion rings are just wrong and they never have salads past lunch time. There is one thing i get from burger king and its the 99 cent hamburgers. i guess simplicity balances it out because they are tasty.

    • TJ says:

      Yea that’s by far my favorite thing from BK too, the regular hamburger. I guess they can’t screw up beef, mustard, ketchup and pickles too badly.

    • Sherry says:

      You are right on the big fish, it isn’t good at all. They got rid of the Whaler which I loved, never even really bothered with the Whopper til they got rid of the Whaler. Now even the Whopper doesn’t taste like it should. The new fries are an improvement. Even the onion rings don’t taste as good as they use to. Think it is time for BK to get back to a little quality.

  13. ljay says:

    If I’m going to eat a chicken patty (instead of a chicken breast sandwich) I’m going with the spicy chicken sandwich at Hardees.

    $1 with mayo and lettuce and it has a nice little kick. As a bonus, you can get the same patty on a biscuit for breakfast. Most places have taken it off menu but ask and you shall receive.

    I have eaten the BK sandwich in the past when they were bogo but always ordered them plain and dashed home to add some mayo and lettuce.

  14. Raiders757 says:

    It kind of blows my mind that they try to pass these off as “premium chicken”, and even worse, at such an inflated price. I used to love these things when they first came out. They were much better than the current versions, which I swear have been hit with a shrink ray.

    I remember when they came out with the Italian under the International Chicken Sandwich banner, and the sauce was pretty darn good. it tasted close to a decent real marinara and they were hooked up with lots of oozing cheese. Fast forward to today, and the sauce tastes like watered down ketchup. They’re a huge let down, yet somehow I always talk myself into stopping in and grabbing one of these for nostalgia’s sake when they promote them.

    I can’t consider such a low quality sandwich being considered a Bogo at nearly a five dollar price point either.

  15. Ed H says:

    There was a time I really liked the Whopper from BK, but that was a long time ago. The Whopper of late has become is a squashed, soggy, cold mess. I did run in for the Itailan Chiecken sandwhich when is first returned as I enjoyed it in the ’80s. Again I was deeply disappointed, it was ketchup on a cold, breaded chicken patty. I do have fond memories of there Tacos, but I am afraid to return to buy some as these may have turned to crap as well.

  16. Jim says:

    “The result was four chicken sandwiches for the price of two and a review of the 3 featured items”

    So which style did you double up on or did I miss it somewhere in the review?

  17. rob says:

    I had one of those in 1989, that was back when they had the chicken tenders that were long and thin and tasted pretty good. They were like McNuggets for grownups.

    I would eat the chicken tenders again if they still offered them but the only appeal of the sandwich was cheap, once you take cheap out of the picture it’s game over.

  18. ChrisLad says:

    A chicken patty sandwichs at fast food places are not different from the chicken the chicken patties you can buy at a grocery store. To charge 4+ for them is a massive rip off. BK here in Northern VA is like 8 dollars for any of the combos. A five guys cheese burger is only like 6 bucks, BK is not worth it.

    • Mike N says:

      Agree — I get the Wal-Mart brand southern-style chicken patties and they’re as good as any of the cheap fast food sandwiches out there, and it works out to about 60 cents including a cheapo hamburger bun. There’s nothing like bachelor pad grub. :)

  19. Crysta says:

    Tried the Italian and the Club at lunch.

    Not impressed. The chicken is dry and salty with little flavor, and the sandwich itself costs four dollars or so. For that I can go to Chick-fil-A.

  20. Obbop says:

    For a pittance more than what BK demands for a an entire “meal” I can gallop into the local all-you-can-scarf buffet with a HORDE of different delights with many of them not only tasty but consisting of good for yer’ carcass foods.

    There is no sense in my admittedly feeble mind to eat anything at BK or ANY fast-food joint unless it is an offering I desire from the buck-per-item menu and I hunger for but one item.

    If my calorie craving is for 2 or more items it is best foe me to wait for the all-one-can-scarf joint’s cheaper lunch and go to it.

    If the economic down-turn continues I advise the corporate greedsters to rethink their nefarious plots, schemes, etc. and reduce costs drastically (especially employee costs but paying MORE for good workers!!!) and return their menus to the basics.

    My prognostications regarding “things” economic and social have been incredibly accurate.

    If any present have pondered entering the over-filled fast-food field HEED!!!!!!!!!!

    Start lean and mean as McD originally did and stick to that path.

    When success is yours write and I will accept thine accolades and accept a lofty position as an adviser and spokes-critter within your corporate structure.

    Thou art welcome.

    Now– get to it!!!!

    Don’t dawdle.

  21. Pat from NJ says:

    Italian Chicken costs 3.89 at my Burger King, making it a great deal as a buy one get one. If they were 4.69 here, I woudlnt even buy it at half price. What they need is a minature variety on the value menu, that is where this kind of sandwich should be in terms of quality.

  22. Andrew says:

    I’ve never had a problem with BK’s pricing. Then again, I use coupons most of the time (You can’t beat 2 whopper jr.’s and 2 small fries for 4 bucks :P)

    • Marie says:

      I remember when they featured the $2.22 deal in the mid 90’s – 2 burgers and 2 small fries for $2.22. Wow – times and prices have sure changed…

  23. Thoms says:

    I remember the price simply because I bought it for someone’s lunch before and they refused to pay/believe more than $3 for the overpriced sandwich.

    That said, I don’t think the original is bad. It is just overpriced.

  24. SkippyMom says:

    Wow! People are passionate in hating BK these days. Makes me really glad we haven’t been to one in forever. They used to be really good, but I am sensing not anymore.

    And expensive! I checked here and the prices are high – it’s ridiculous [not that I find Wendy’s or McD’s that cheap anymore unless you go $ menu] but I would definitely avoid these sandwiches, not only for the quality, but for the price.

    • Crysta says:

      Yeah, the price is what’s truly outrageous about these “premium” (haha) sandwiches. The TenderCrisp/TenderGrill meals are only a dollar more than the original chicken sandwich meal!

      Then again, the six and change you pay for a TenderCrisp is more expensive than places that do chicken a heck of a lot better…

  25. Kozmo says:

    We like the $1.50 double cheese burger. really miss the buck Double they used to have. the new BK topper with cheddar & Bacon is good, but does not look as nice as the photos. tiny sad piece of bacon on it.
    We REALLY like their new French Fries. liked the old one, but the new one’s even better.
    Mc Donalds is so expensive now. $4.28 for a coffee, hashbrown adn a little bacon/egg/cheese biscuit. crazy!
    also had a Big Mac for the first time in like 5 years. was horrible. all bun and no meat. worst I ever had. also the McDonalds fries were blah too. BK fries kick McDon’s fries butt!

    • ChrisLad says:

      4.28 bad for sandwich, hashbrown and coffee? That works out to 1.43 per item. Seems alright to me. Coffee is nearly 2 bucks for a cup almost everywhere now. A meal for under 5 dollars sounds good.

  26. KTK says:

    I got that deal today and ordered the original w/o lettuce. I quickly took it home and added fresh lettuce and tomato and a couple of strips of bacon to make my own club. Too bad BK’s veggies are so pathetic most of the time that you have to do it yourself. I think it was $3.79, which I didn’t feel was bad given their size.

    • Sascha says:

      Well, if you were going to go that far, why didn’t you just make your own chicken too? Would have been much better.

  27. deapp says:

    i saw the commercial and decided to visit Burger King. The drive through did not advertise the special so I asked for it. Told them I wanted two chicken specials. I paid $5:04 for it and thought I got a good deal until I got up the street and found out I had only two not four burgers. I returned to the store and asked how much was one burger and she said $4.50. I said I should have gotten a $5 foot long.

    • Sascha says:

      Well, that’s just stupid all around. I suppose ordering 2 chicken specials and expecting four sandwiches is fine, but for $5?

      Quality aside, two of these sandwiches easily equal a foot long sub. So, you actually expected to get two foot longs for less than the price of one foot long?

  28. Manavee says:

    If you’re looking for stuff to review, I would suggest reviewing Denny’s new Sizzlin’ Skillets menu. I stopped by a Denny’s the other day for the first time in forever, and got one of them. I know I’m opening myself up to mockery here, but believe it or not, it was actually really darn good. They seemed to use quality ingredients with nice chunks of meat, potatoes, bacon, and broccoli along with cheddar cheese. It was served sizzling hot (so hot, that you risk turning your hard palate into a giant blister if you eat it too quickly). All in all, I was happily surprised of the quality of the food….not something I had expected from Denny’s.

  29. Manavee says:

    Oops, I meant to post that in the open discussion

  30. Richard says:

    Here in Tucson, AZ we have a Mexican/Sonora-style hot dog place called BK that everyone confuses with Burger King lol.

    I think I had Burger King’s original chicken sandwich about a year ago, it tasted basically the same as what this review contained; the chicken and lettuce were mediocre, but the bun was decent. I might try one of the three, only because of the buy 1/get 1 deal. I wouldn’t pay $5 for one of them. I like the fries and the ice cream though.

  31. Caprice says:

    Thanks for the review, Ryan. I have been losing weight, and like you, very rarely eat at Burger King, but was curious about the BOGO Chicken Club. The burger that BK uses is horrible! I thought maybe the chicken would be better.
    Thanks to your review, it looks just as disgusting as the burgers do. lol Plus, a Chicken Club has like 700 calories. So thanks for saving me $5 and a lot of calories I didn’t need anyway!! ” )

  32. joejo says:

    At least give me some god darn cheese, please

  33. Qwan Lee says:

    re:To the person who said Wendys still tastes the same

    Wendys burgers have gone downhill big time. The flavor tastes like it is a head, hoof and shin grind.

    Burger King has the right idea with the flame broiled burgers but the cook about 10x the amount ahead they should and they nuke em back to temp.

    NOBODY, beats the flavor of Hardee’s. They are the elite(no one even close) of the burger chains.

    McDonalds is consistent enough to fool a majority of the people with price and advertising.