Fast Food Review: New Toasty Bullets from Quiznos

In the short 5 month life of GrubGrade, never has there been a post more talked about and popular than the Quiznos Toasty Torpedo.  A big reason would have to be the controversial “Scott and the Oven” commercials that were out there.  While getting mixed reviews on the Torpedo, one thing is for sure…it was on everyone’s mind this past Spring.  While the controversy may have died down, the Torpedo is still going strong and now has a pesky little brother coming into the picture to try to steal it’s thunder.  Over a footlong of a sandwich too big for you?  Quiznos has the answer for you with the introduction of the $3.00, roughly 7 inch, New Toasty Bullets.

Quiznos Bullet

There really isn’t anything  too new and exciting about the new Toasty Bullets other than the fact that you’re getting a smaller and cheaper Toasty Torpedo with a new name.  The 5 original choices of Torpedo are carried over to the new Bullets.  Your choices are the Italian, Big Kahuna Tuna, Pesto Turkey, Turkey Club and the Beef, Bacon and Cheddar.  It would’ve been nice to have a couple of new sandwich candidates in the mix with the new Bullets, but things are pretty customizable over at Quiznos, so maybe if you ask nicely you can get something comparable on the ciabatta bread.

Let’s start the reviews:

  • Italian: Pepperoni, spicy capicola, ham, mozzarella cheese and red wine vinaigrette topped with crisp lettuce and chopped tomatoes.  The Italian worked on a couple of different levels.  This was one of the easier “on the go” sandwiches because it’s contents were contained pretty reasonably.  The toasty crunch of the ciabatta mixed with the salty Italian meats proved to be a worthy match.  The spice of the meats overwhelmed the mozzarella, but that was to be expected.  The red wine vinaigrette provided some decent moisture, but struggled to make an impact taste-wise.  Lettuce and diced tomato seemed fresh, although, the lettuce had almost zero impact other than making a mess at the bottom of my bullet wrapper.  GrubGrade: 7.00/10  (Decent)
Italian Bullet from Quiznos

Italian

  • Big Kahuna Tuna: Tuna salad, cheddar cheese, sliced banana peppers topped with crisp lettuce and chopped tomatoes.  I wasn’t too shocked that the banana peppers were missing from my Big Kahuna Bullet.  There always seems to be something that goes wrong with an order larger than one item.  I’ve got to say, I make pretty good tuna salad at home and albacore is my go-to (tuna snob).  I’m not really into the pureed paste of tuna found in most sub shops and this was no different.  Nothing more taste-wise than a fishy paste.  Definitely edible, but nothing more than mediocre (plus it was messy if you are grubbing on the go).  This is the highest calories/fat of all the Bullets (cheddar and mayo infused tuna concoction).  I liked the toasted ciabatta with this Bullet, but that’s where the positives end.  If I could just borrow the toasty ciabatta and provide my own tuna creation, we may have had a winner.  GrubGrade: 5.25/10  (Mediocre)
Big Kahuna Tuna Bullet from Quiznos

Big Kahuna Tuna

  • Pesto Turkey:  Thinly-sliced oven-roasted turkey, red wine vinaigrette, mozzarella cheese and basil pesto topped with crisp lettuce and chopped tomatoes.  This was a OK sandwich that didn’t really wow me in any way, but it didn’t have me disappointed either.  Kind of a middle-of-the-road offering that only stands out from the basil pesto spread (hence the name).  This was one of the more generously packed Bullets of the five.  The oven-roasted turkey slices weren’t skimped on and that provided for one of the more filling options.  I have a feeling that will definitely vary from place to place but I just had to point it out.  The red wine vinaigrette seemed uninspired with the Pesto Turkey…I mean, you already have the basil pesto spread for that extra recognizable flavor addition and then you try to drown it in a vinaigrette?  So much for the mozzarella on this one too as it’s just way too mild to stand out between pesto spread and vinaigrette.  Nothing special, but once again…just kind of average.  GrubGrade:  6.25/10  (Average)
Pesto Turkey Bullet from Quiznos

Pesto Turkey

  • Turkey Club: Thinly-sliced oven-roasted turkey, crisp bacon, red wine vinaigrette, mozzarella cheese and mayo topped with crisp lettuce and chopped tomatoes.  The Turkey Club was my favorite of the five Bullets. Once again, red wine vinaigrette is in the mix and works well with these ingredients.  It really isn’t needed all that much when you consider it already has mayo but it was a little extra something that might have been missed if it were not included.  The combination of turkey and bacon just works and for that reason, the Turkey Club automatically gets some votes.  I’m sure this combo is one of the more popular sandwich offerings across the country, so it’s really no surprise that it would work in a Quiznos Bullet.  GrubGrade:  7.50/10  (Good)
Turkey Club Bullet from Quiznos

Turkey Club

  • Beef, Bacon and Cheddar: Thinly-sliced roast beef, crisp bacon, mayo, cheddar topped with crispy lettuce and chopped tomatoes.  Unfortunately, the Beef, Bacon and Cheddar is the most forgettable of the five.  I didn’t really get much roast beef on one side of my Bullet and I barely noticed the bacon.  Because of what seemed to be a lack of meat (or poor distribution), the Cheddar, lettuce and tomato stood out more prominently, so in the end, I was still left somewhat disappointed.  Come to think of it, all 5 Bullets seemed to have one end of the sandwich barren for about an inch or two.  What gives?  GrubGrade:  5.75/10  (Mediocre)
Beef Bacon and Cheddar Bullet from Quiznos

Beef, Bacon and Cheddar

So to wrap up, the new Quiznos Bullets are nothing groundbreaking.  If you were keeping score, the average GrubGrade of all five came out to 6.35/10 (Average) As I mentioned before, it’s just a new size and price for the Torpedo.  I have to say, I believe the $3.00 Bullets work better than the Torpedoes.  The Torpedo gets lumped into comparisons with Subway’s 5 Dollar Footlongs and when you see how much thinner the Quiznos sandwich is, you may be turned off.  It’s just not a fair fight.  The Bullet will set you back 3 bucks and you’re getting about 7-8 inches that will meet the needs of smaller appetites or those eating a bit lighter.  It’s hard to argue with $3 for the Bullet alone, but if you consider adding a drink and some chips, you’re already in the $5 range.  The Bullets are firing off… some are hitting, some are missing and none have hit the bulls eye.  This is just one person’s opinion.  You’ve got 5 Bullets to load the chamber with.

Pros: Only $3.00. Five choices. Toasty crunch of ciabatta.

Cons: Not very filling for big appetites. Just a smaller, cheaper Torpedo.

Price: $3.00

Overall GrubGrade: 7.50/10 (Turkey Club) | 7.00/10 (Italian) | 6.25/10 (Pesto Turkey) | 5.75/10 (Beef, Bacon and Cheddar) | 5.25/10 (Big Kahuna Tuna)

More Info: Quiznos.com
Nutrition Facts:
Nutrition Info was not available (as Torpedoes go…The Big Kahuna Tuna was the highest in calories and fat…Turkey Pesto was the lowest)

13 comments on “Fast Food Review: New Toasty Bullets from Quiznos

  1. Man I still couldn’t kill that sandwich in one sitting, that is two meals for me.
    As far as this whole new Quiznos thing goes I haven’t had it since we were in MD, so that is way over a year (wow no Quiznos for over a year?!). So I haven’t had any of the new options yet. I normally always ask for a custom sandwich when I go there anyway.
    Too bad they aren’t being creative with their sandwiches.
    @Ryan did you eat all of those or did you have help? :D

  2. Ryan says:

    It took me a couple of weeks but I had them all.

  3. Yum Yucky says:

    Looks good. I think I might wanna bite the Bullet.

  4. Bear Silber says:

    Haha, I was wondering the same thing….I was like “$15 for 5 small subs….hope he’s hungry or has room in the fridge.” Did they guys look at you funny at all? I bet you’ve got a few funny stories of fast food employees thinking/looking at you weird.

    “…all 5 Bullets seemed to have one end of the sandwich barren for about an inch or two.” That’s unacceptable, they are already skimpy on everything…they’ve got to AT LEAST fill the bread.

    My friend HATES Quizno’s, he says they toast everything…..including the water :P You know they actually hav to charge you tax when they toast it as opposed to when they don’t.

    I used to be a huge fan of Quizno’s when they first started popping up, they were a nice alternative to Subway but now that Subway has improved SO much Quizno’s just feels like they’re trying to keep up with Subway and they’re doing it all wrong. They’re trying to cut corners and that doesn’t fly in my book.

    P.S. I started reading this and then stopped to see who wrote it but I saw the first pics, and the sunglasses on the table, and so I know it was you :P

  5. Bear Silber says:

    P.P.S. The only one I think I’d be interested in would be the Turkey Club.

  6. Min says:

    I like the bullet, it’s a quick easy light lunch. The Turkey Club I got was also a little naked on the end – but I liked it. Mostly because I’m fond of the bread and liked having a little naked bit to eat :)

  7. Raiders757 says:

    @ Erin

    Those things are a lot smaller than they look in the pick. I wouldn’t sell yourself short on this one.

    I think I’m going to pass on this little tiny version and stick to making my own at home. That or go to my local Farm Fresh. they make $5 foot longs now, and they’re huge. It takes me two sittings to eat one. Double the meat of subway.

  8. A.M. says:

    Bear, just a couple of comments on your post: There is no tax just for toasting. Quiznos toasts ALL sandwiches; it is not a choice. However, they will serve it cold if a customer prefers.

    I’ve weighed meats & cheese on comparable Quiznos and Subway sandwiches and Quiznos had double the ingredients. So don’t understand what you mean by “skimpy on everything.”

    To the columnist: I’ve had both the bullet and the torpedo. Both are packaged in sleeves that are a couple of inches shorter than the bread. Hmmm, I wonder if that’s why one end is barren. I know my lettuce and tomato garnish fell out. If that’s not the reason, it could be the error of the sub maker to spread out the meat correctly. I do know this happens on most food items I buy though, including hamburgers: A few bites of nothing but bread!

  9. Nice work here. Love the side by side analysis. I have yet to try one of these. Fast food roast beef (other than Arby’s) is pretty bad, I usually stay away. For $3.00, not a bad deal.

  10. [...] GrubGrade reviews Quizno’s new Toasty Bullets. [...]

  11. cress says:

    I like Quiznos. I prefer them over Subway any day of the week. But these “bullets” look TOO small. Why don’t they just put a toothpick in them and call them “Quiznos’ Appetizers”?

  12. Ted says:

    MEH! Quiznos is starting to die out here in MD/PA area, mainly because the food is awful. They started out well a few years ago, offering a good meal for a good price. Since then, they have just gone downhill while trying to increase profits or reduce costs.

    BTW….you know WHY all their subs are on toasted bread?

    It is because they buy cheap, day-old bread and then toast it to mask the freshness! It was not like this originally, but a few years ago they started this practice and you can certainly taste it in the bread in the Quiznos around here.

  13. Pruella Polkra says:

    C’mon, Quiznos. Let’s be upfront with the nutritional labeling on all your sandwiches. There is a select number on your Web site and the Bullet is not among them. As Americans gain interest in what is between the paper wrappers, we need the info to make an informed choice. Guesses won’t do. Usually, ciabatta is a high-calorie bread (lots of oil in the recipe) so I am guessing the Bullet has more calories than one would think.